47 Replies Latest reply: May 30, 2012 5:09 PM by lukele RSS

Lag Compensation

Yes, I know you are tired of discussing this topic, but I feel the need to bring it up and not let it die. I've been playing Call of Duty for three years now and I know I'm not an average player. In fact I'm in one of the biggest PS3 Youtube clans. Well, mentioning that, I used to average 20/5 games all the time on Modern Warfare 2 using a sniper doing what those call quickscoping. Coming to MW3 I now average 5/25 due to compensation. I have scattered the internet for solutions to this problem and only one has worked with minimal effect is UDP Flooding: http://gyazo.com/f40ed03853b29ce84f0d8e988dea4919. It's the process of making me lag so the compensation can be toned down a bit. I just want to know why can't Activision get rid of this if they have more than enough money to do so? MW2 had near perfect net-coding varying by connection. If you had a good host you can always get a 4-Bar. Now on this game you have a 4-Bar but it acts very similar to a 2-Bar which is ridiculous. I always get taken out with 2 bullets and get a massive amount of hitmarkers because of player sponging. I literally shoot people in the head and see the little floating x right after. The purpose of Lag Compensation was to, "bring balance to the playing field," but what it's really doing is destroying it. People who pay good money for their connection are being penalized so some cheap consumer can have an advantage over them. The only thing Lag Compensation does is switch the roles of the good/bad players. Every time after having a short session of MW3 I get a massive amount of frustration and search the internet for those in my current situation. Now don't get me wrong, I know Lag Compensation is in every online game including the other Call of Dutys but why did they have to destroy it's purpose when implemented in Black Ops and now MW3? I actually got so fed up with the game I wasted my time to create an account ju