31 Replies Latest reply: Jun 6, 2012 3:59 PM by greenxtc RSS

FoV changer - Is it alowed?

I have health problems (headache etc...) because I cant change fov in game... It's balanced for consoles and we (pc players) are left to play in pain. I'm sure that many people have the same problem as me... Question is, can we use software like "MW3 MP FoV Changer" to set fov that suits us? Can we get banned for using that software? It doesnt give any unfair advantage to the users so I hope we can use it... Thanks for answers in advance.

• Re: FoV changer - Is it alowed?

I Use it for a month and i have no problems with it, it only gets patched, nobody gets banned. It's allowed software.

I've been using it since 2 months kind of and haven't had a problem. I think there's no problem...

ok I don't get it. Normally the widest FOV you can get is a 16x9 ratio, like 1280x720 or 1360x768 (not truely but close) or 1600x900 or 1920x1080. Anything else will give you less peripheral vision, meaning you won't see as much on the sides. Are you saying that this software will give you even more peripheral vision than you can get with a 16x9 screen ratio?

The demo looks like it's just adding a fish eye look to a standard screen resolution.

BTW I run in a 1280x720 window with the monitor really close. I just find everything to be smoother that way.

Thanks for quick answers

candyslexia

I'd like to once and for all give Infinity Ward's stance on this subject.

We do not mind if a PC user has the FOV changer mod.

We also do not ban anyone that is using the FOV mod.

EDIT: Just had confirmation that Valve also does not issue bans for FOV changer.

IW doesn't mind if you do anything you want to do in the game, including hacking or anything else. That is painfully clear...

wierd worlds are these