19 Replies Latest reply: Sep 8, 2012 9:15 AM by Datura RSS

Would life be better without Assassin?

This is a hypothetical about the Assassin perk.

I'm very new to MW3 but not to FPSs in general. When I started playing this game just recently I immediately noticed how much of an advantage Assassin gave you on the battlefield, and with more play time under my belt I soon discovered exactly how much of an advantage it really is. Now in regards to game balance, is it necessary to have something that makes you invisible to enemy radar, makes your name invisble, makes you invisible to UAV, immune to CUAV, immune to EMP, and blocks your heat signature from thermal? What I'm asking is if in a game that's designed to employ all these battlefield tactics, is it really necessary?

Now before immediately answering "yes it is, it creates balance", think about this. What if enemies didn't appear on your radar by default, only giving a location signature when firing an unsupressed gun or lit up by UAVs? And what if you never saw the enemies' names at all, only that of your teammates? Wouldn't this then make UAV/AUAV and CUAVs a battlefield commodity? And wouldn't it then just mean that if you ever saw a guy with no name on his head then it was time to start shooting? It would eliminate easy kills with airstrikes by requiring a UAV to see anybody, and that in itself would make strike package selection and usage more tactical. Corner campers would be countered by UAV as per design. Also something like Recon would then be a legitimate choice as your 1st perk, Thermal scopes would make sense being the last thing you unlock for most guns, and so on & so on.