6 Replies Latest reply: Dec 15, 2013 7:36 AM by warrior0712 RSS

How to setup a dedicated server for mw3?

I have tried allot of tutorials but none of them works. i am strugling to find one that is simple and clear. If anyone could maby provide a link or post that will explain how to setup my dedicated server, that will be very nice.

Thanks...

• Re: How to setup a dedicated server for mw3?
    CrapDuster

Im no pro at this but this should help.

1st navigate to your mw3 folder. the path shoud be C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\call of duty modern warfare 3.

Once there right click iw5mp_server.exe and choose send to desktop, then go to your desktop & right click on the shortcut you  created & choose properties,

In the target field paste the text in red after the end quote add 1 space. +set sv_maprotation default +start_map_rotate +set dedicated 2

The target field should look like this when your done. "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\call of duty modern warfare 3\iw5mp_server.exe" +set sv_maprotation default +start_map_rotate +set dedicated 2

Apply & exit.

Now edit your server.cfg file found in mw3 admin folder. this file is for editing the server name & password etc.

PATH should be: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\call of duty modern warfare 3\admin

Next edit your default.dspl file found in mw3 admin folder (this file is for map rotation)

PATH should be: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\call of duty modern warfare 3\admin

at the bottom of the file you'll see something like

*,TDM_default,1

mp_alpha,DOM_default,1

mp_bootleg,DOM_default,1

*,TDEF_default,1000

mp_bravo,JUG_default,1

(if you play 1 gametype & like all the maps you really only need to use one of these lines)

*,TDM_default,1

(that line means that the server will be selecting random maps (like shuffle) and the gametype will be Team Death Match.)

Here's a few example of maplists.

*= random/all maps rotation