43 Replies Latest reply: Nov 21, 2013 1:04 PM by codchamp RSS

My 3G connection is lag free

frtthunderpants

Hi All

I have suffered like many others with a really poor connection to this game. And would like some advise or comments on what has worked for you?  (apologies for the long post as back ground is needed)

I started playing on my original connection that had my router set up as per activation's help guide, I ran trace routes from my console to MS Xbox test servers and locally, averaged about a 9ms ping, to Europe (6000 miles away averaged about a 150ms ping). This is a tier 1 ISP that gives gaming the highest priority on there network. The lag or lag comp what ever you want to call it made this game un-playable!!!! PS I was chosen as host the majority of times on this connection. (I know this as when i opted out of the game host migration in progress)

My second try was with a second tier ISP rated badly, but gave them a go, got host about the same amount of times, and had a few WTF moments, but overall my experience was better. On my trace routes my average local ping was about 40ms and internationally to Europe about 160ms.

My 3rd test was using my I phone as a hotspot and connecting to it, via my 3 g connection, as we are all aware this is a very unstable connection at the best of times, and my trace route test showed that, local ping was never below 50ms and went up to as high as 90ms, internationally all test where over 200ms.

HERE IS THE SURPRISE ON MY 3G WIFI CONNECTION I OWNED I RAN AROUND WITHOUT A CARE IN THE WORLD COULD TAKE BULLETS TURN AND KILL WHOEVER WAS SHOOTING AT ME, I WAS ALMOST INVINCIBLE COMPARED TO THE WIRED BROADBAND CONNECTIONS.

So what to do if I play on 3G there is one less capable host to this game, so less lobbies to connect to, but the game is way more fun and playable. Has anyone else tried this or had similar experiences, or could someone explain this a little better.