8 Replies Latest reply: Jul 30, 2012 12:52 PM by phxs72 RSS

Noob Questions

Ok guys, yes I am fairly new to playing this online.

I'd like to know what the dedicated servers are please.

Also any advice on actually killing would be a bonus lol.

I've played 3 or 4 times and only managed 1 kill

It seems quite hard, or is it cause I'm rank 1 against rank 50's etc?

• Re: Noob Questions

If you play on the dedicated servers, it is just down to you skills, as you have the same weapons as every one else, so it just takes practice.  you only level up on the poor P2P lobby, so what you should do is find a good server and stick to it and you will learn how other players play the game, tactics you could use are gun and run or snip and camp depending on what weapons you use.

poison_pawn

Activision has succeeded in keeping dedicated server as esoteric as possible. I think most folks don't realize that you not only don't HAVE to rank up to have everything unlocked, in dedi-server; and that unranked dedi kits, (or load outs if you will) wich anyone can create in the private match lobby and Save  to use in any dedicated server. are separate from IWnet matchmaking lobby system. and in fact the kit's that everyone is trying so desperately to unlock won't follow you in to a un ranked server so there is really no need to rank up if you want to play in an ADMIN'd dedicated server; with all weapons perks and killstreaks (that sever admin allow ready to use. just go to you private mach lobby; build any kits you like and hop on one of many dedicated server; where every one has the same advantage. (and yes by dedicated servers, i mean rented; not some kid "hosting" on mommies ISP)

Am I missing something in this game

Seriously, I've never found a game this hard to play online.

Firstly, I'm there shooting the hell out of someone, they don't die but turn and shoot me dead.