33 Replies Latest reply: Dec 19, 2012 7:56 AM by RatedM RSS

Internet Connection & Providers

PhilLvsTanya

After seeing every other topic saying lag this lag that etc i thought i would ask a question.

What ISP are you with & what is your package (10mbps/20mbps/30mbps etc)

• Re: Internet Connection & Providers
    blarkw

doesn't matter so much on stuff like that. It matters on quality of the connection. If I have a low grade, meaning lots of packet loss and all in all a crappy connection I will benifit more.

I am still living in a hotel with a crappy wilreless connection and do great. I go home to a connection I have honed cause that's what I do for a living and I get owned most of the time.

PhilLvsTanya

the only reason im asking is because i dont have a problem with lag never have done so far (fingers crossed & touch wood), im with virgin media on a 60mbps connection so im thinking maybe my connection is helping me avoid the lag in a way.

im not sure was just wondering what everyone has and wether they get lag.

BT Infinity   -  45mbs down / 10.5mbs up / 25ms ping  , is what i'm getiing.

No problems for me , the game plays absolutely fine .

D4nth3m4n

@PhilLvsTanya  You probably wont see much "true lag" on that connection. True lag being players skipping across screen/teleporting/sudden lag spikes where everything goes in to a slide show.

Lag compensation is getting insta killed, appearing to shoot someone first and then dieing, players appearing from no where, dieing when you think youre round a corner but stil get hit. Kill cams showing you didnt react or didnt shoot when on your screen you actuaklly did. Thats the negative side.

bt infinity...

http://speedtest.net/result/2311854948.png

my experiance online is good some days and bad others , if im hosting (which seems to happen alot) i cant seem to hit anything or at least my hits dont seem to register that well

BoomstickLogan

mine 15dwn 1.5 up, laggy 75% of the time