29 Replies Latest reply: Jul 14, 2014 6:28 PM by xqdogx RSS

What's with all the Newbie Hate?

I am completely new to the series and have only been playing since November.  I'm still learning what style of play I like and what guns to use and so what.  Obviously my kill:death ratio is not great.  It was .288 or something and I've raised it to a .299.  I get SOOOO much grief when I play with these diehard fans.  I get "Why bother playing if that's your K:D ratio?, What's the point?"  No kindness at all.  What's with all the hate?  I did manage to find a clan that would accept me so I could play with them and I do have friends who understand that I am learning and don't give me crap.  But if anyone could explain to me what is with the intense hatred toward newbies?  It's a game and I like to play and have fun, even though I'm not the best at it.  I'm better at other games, but since when is playing video games not about having fun?   Anyone?

• Re: What's with all the Newbie Hate?
          phxs72

Don't worry.  When your kd is 1 you will get hated on.  When your kd is 1.5 and the other guy has a 1.51 you will get hated on.  Those that choose to hate will do so based on the thinnest reasoning or none at all.  They just like doing it.  It's good that you've found a clan to run with.  That should help you get better at the game faster but again the hate is always going to be there no matter what you kd is.  In fact, you could have a 6 kd and you'll get hated on for being a tryhard.  Your best course of action is to use the Mute all but party option and get back to enjoying the game and improving upon your skills.  Let the haters live in their small little worlds by themselves.

It doesn't matter, no matter what u will get hated on.  I am 10th prestige with +2.5 kd and max level clan.  I am called no-lifer, hacker, try-hard, and whatever else they come up with!!

Ifulna