42 Replies Latest reply: Mar 27, 2014 11:35 AM by rankismet RSS

Something about the community I just don't understand...

TH3_G00D_S0LD13R

I have been a gamer since I was old enough to hold a NES controller in my hands. I was born the same year it was, and have grown up owning one console in every generation since, crossing all companies. But there is one thing I realized when I started playing CoD back in MW2. And I'm sure it existed before. But that's just when I noticed it. And it has been rampant since then, in every installment, you'll hear it in nearly every lobby if someone has a mic. A lot of times you'd see it in Blops custom emblems.
      Something about the community I just don't understand...

the blatant homophobia.

I get it, you're mad at someone, and want to call them something to hurt their feelings and make you feel better. But calling someone a ***? Saying the person who killed you is gay? Why?

I want some legitimate discussion in here. I know that's a lot to ask for an internet forum, but this is something I'm very interested in. Why are so many FPS gamers homophobic?

• Re: Something about the community I just don't understand...
          RunAndGun1

I'm from an earlier generation. Every gen has its "punching bag", for lack of a better phrase. Some people just use it as slang, not necessarily in a mean way. Some use it as a derogatory slam, because they have little to no self esteem or are just plain jerks themselves. Or they want to be "cool" like their friends who use the phrase. So, in order to fit in with the "in crowd" they use the slang, thinking they're cool for doing so.