How to pronounce the german words

Black Ops forum

Highlighted
It frustrates me so much to find people saying the names of the maps\weapons completely wrong. I remember one person calling kino der toten Kai-no d-er tote-in! So i thought i'd make this thread to help educate some players (i've been studying german for 7 years now).

Wunder Waffe Die Glocke 2 - V-oon der Vaf-fe De Glock-e z-vei (Wunder Waffe DG-Zwei translates to Wonder Weapon The Bell 2)

Kino der toten - Key-no der toat-en (translates to Cinema of the dead. Among popular belief, it is actually Cinema, not Theatre (perhaps treyarchs fault on not researching into german language). Theatre = Theatre in german (pronounce tea-art-e. Also used when talking about the subject drama).

Zombie Verrückt - Ver-lookt (R and L are pronounced at the same time, the R and the L will make the ou sound, which ofcourse makes the ü (u with an umlout) sound) (Translates to Zombie crazy, or in this context, Zombie Madness)

Nacht der untoten - N-ach-t der oon-tat-en (translates to Night of the undead)

Der Riese - der R-ease-er (Translates to The Giant, can be often mistaken with Der Reise (pronounced der R-eye-ser, which translates to The Journey)

Gewehr - ga-vey-yer (Translates to Rifle)

Wunderbar - V-oon-der-bar (Translates to Wonderful, a common quote from Rictofen)

So i hope this clears things up, as i find it really annoying that people call the Wunder Waffe the wonder waffle, out of lack of knowledge (not because they nick named it that, because my friends nick name it the Dogs Gun, whilst the FG is the Family gun and the MG is My gun)
Ultama1
13 REPLIES 13
Potato Potatoe
MGV_HAVOK

MGV_HAVOK wrote:

Potato Potatoe