I just can't get in my head,that...

Black Ops forum

I just can't get in my head,that...

...IW back in 2007 was able to deliver us a engine based on 60FPS, and Dice in 2011, 4 years later isn't.

Why?

I just don't get it, I have no idea of programming, but it they were able to develop one in 2007, why isn't Dice able to built Frosbite 2.0 on a 60FPS?
CrayHD
Likes: 3
Posts: 1178
10 REPLIES

Re: I just can't get in my head,that...

in reply to CrayHD
Frostbite uses destructible environments, IW 3.0 didn't.



When you have a map that changes as you play, it's much more difficult to keep the framerate up. Plus, you have vehicles, so... yeah.
firehawkshooter
Likes: 20
Posts: 2135

Re: I just can't get in my head,that...

in reply to CrayHD
Otherwise, I do not know.



One of the great technical limitations of consoles.
firehawkshooter
Likes: 20
Posts: 2135

Re: I just can't get in my head,that...

in reply to CrayHD
Because IW used to be the greatest, nobody could compete with them, then they made MW2.
yoda429
Likes: 16
Posts: 2461

Re: I just can't get in my head,that...

in reply to CrayHD
Yes, I know, at all BF has so much more to offer than COD, but I mean the game would be a revolution if it would be based on a 60FPS engine, and now 4 years later, I just hoped they do...
CrayHD
Likes: 3
Posts: 1178

Re: I just can't get in my head,that...

in reply to CrayHD

CrayHD wrote:

 

...IW back in 2007 was able to deliver us a engine based on 60FPS, and Dice in 2011, 4 years later isn't.

Why?

I just don't get it, I have no idea of programming, but it they were able to develop one in 2007, why isn't Dice able to built Frosbite 2.0 on a 60FPS?





IW had much smaller maps, which also allowed them to have greater detail on these maps. If you are talking about BC2, the fact that they have to calculate the trajectory of bullets as they soar through the air, as well as gravity, instead of just shooting lasers, is also probably a factor.
schmambuman
Likes: 0
Posts: 2176

Re: I just can't get in my head,that...

in reply to CrayHD
It has something to do with the display resolution and how many things the engine can do the same time, DICE engine has destructable buildings which takes lot of cpu/gpu power.



here are some stats from the CoD & BF resolutions



Playstation3:

Battlefield: Bad Company = 1280x720 (no AA)

Battlefield: Bad Company 2 = 1280x720 (no AA)

Battlefield 1943 = 1280x720 (no AA)

Call of Duty 3 (screenshot) ~1088x624 (2xAA)

Call of Duty: Black Ops = 960x544 (2xAA)

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare = 1024x600 (2xAA)

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 = 1024x600 (2xAA)

Call of Duty: World at War = 1024x600 (2x AA)



Xbox360:

Battlefield: Bad Company = 1280x720 (no AA)

Battlefield: Bad Company 2 = 1280x720 (no AA)

Battlefield 1943 = 1280x720 (no AA)

Call of Duty 3 = 1040x624 (2xAA)

Call of Duty: Black Ops = 1040x608 (2xAA)

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare = 1024x600 (2xAA)

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 = 1024x600 (2xAA)

Call of Duty: World at War = 1024x600 (2x AA)

Call of Duty: Classic = 1280x720 (4xAA)



You can clearly see that CoD games have sub-hd resolution to make the game run at higher framerate, i think that Battlefield has also V-Sync locked at 30fps, by this means it could "maybe" get more frames per second, maybe 40fps but its locked at 30fps (not really sure about that).
BLAME_ACTIVISIO
Likes: 0
Posts: 120

Re: I just can't get in my head,that...

in reply to CrayHD
Did you know that OP's name is Cool Story Bro! ?



Check that link:



http://img96.imageshack.us/i/coolstorybroe.jpg/



Forums win?
killswitchsoldi
Likes: 2
Posts: 540

Re: I just can't get in my head,that...

in reply to CrayHD

KillswitchSoldier wrote:

 

Did you know that OP's name is Cool Story Bro! ?



Check that link:



http://img96.imageshack.us/i/coolstorybroe.jpg/



Forums win?







I think the forum just blow my cover, lol.
CrayHD
Likes: 3
Posts: 1178

Re: I just can't get in my head,that...

in reply to CrayHD
Dude, everytime you post a new topic it says Cool story bro! xD



(no offense intended!)



Anyways, on topic:



I still think Battlefield 3 looks pr0n. Although DICE ripped the people off with Medal Of Honor big time. I'll wait until the final product is out and decide wether I'm getting it or not.
killswitchsoldi
Likes: 2
Posts: 540

Studios