NAT Type: Open in MW2; Moderate in Black Ops-is this you?

Call of Duty Black Ops forum

NAT Type: Open in MW2; Moderate in Black Ops-is this you?

If you are:



(1) one of those people who have reported that MW2 says the NAT is OPEN but BLACKOPS says the NAT is MODERATE

(2) you are using the "Start MP by Default" option

(3) have a UPnP router (as confirmed by the XMB connection test)

(4) network savy, are comfortable messing with routers

(5) are not wireless; you are using a hardwired ethernet cable

(6) are not currently port fowarding or DMZed, just trying to use UPnP like "most people" OR you are willing to temporarily change your router to not use that set up



-Disable the option to "Start MP by Default" so that you always boot through CAMPAIGN/SP. Back out of the menu so it saves.

-Shut down your PS3 entirely so it's off.

-Reboot your router entirely (either by unplugging it, reset switch, or by the Reboot button in the web admin panel [depends on router])



-Turn Router back on. Wait a bit of time till it syncs up/is booted.

-Turn on your PS3.



-Boot Black Ops into single player.

-Switch to multilayer

-Connect to PlayStation network so you see all 4 revisions numbers (52.X.X.X) in top right hand corner

-Go to Options

-Hit select

-Check NAT Type



Does it now say OPEN instead of MODERATE?



I am trying to validate if a timing problem occurs with the Nat Transversal/UpNP if you boot MP by default.



As always, cheers to those of you who keep it on topic. Your reply should be something simple such as:



-I meet the conditions you describe.

-These steps "did" or "did not" work for me.



Again, it's important to fully shut down and reboot your PS3 and router in-between, otherwise the test is not 100% valid because either the PS3 or the router could be remember the port mappings from MW2. I don't want it to. Although that might be a good work around for you, it won't help us valid the test. I am doing the same testing here although we are using Wireshark and a hub to see what is going on.



David 'Vahn' Vonderhaar



Update 1:

Be sure your router Firmware is up to date. Mine was not and UPnP started reporting as available in the XMB after I upgraded even though my router is a really newer Linksys model I bought just a few weeks ago!



Update 2:

Having an OPEN or MODERATE NAT is important. OPEN is best. I don't think the NAT issues are the one and only problem. We are investigating Quality of Service probe failures (Game Lobby closed) and much more.



If Black Ops is failing to properly open up the necessary ports on UPnP routers this could cause significant issues for a large number of typical Internet at home users. It's not just about your connection, but the connection you can maintain between everyone in your party, or in the game.



Update 3:

I have to do this every time I post, but so be it.



Most issues in the game can be fixed if they can be found and reproduced. I was finally (after upgrading my router firmware) able to reproduce the issue that people were telling me about where MW2 would report OPEN but BlackOps would report MODERATE.



I couldn't get this to happen because I wasn't actually UPnP enabled. I wasn't UPnP enabled because of a bug in my router firmware, not the game, that the manufacture later patched. Now that we were able to reproduce it 100% of the time we are able to attach a network capture device and figure out why.



Debugging isn't hard. Finding 100% reproducible cases can be hard when dealing with the huge variety and quality of Internet connection types and the dozens of router manufactures and firmware versions in use.



I continue to maintain that if we can get 100% reproducible cases, we can find and fix the problems.
Level 8
Likes: 23
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎18-07-2011
48 REPLIES

Re: NAT Type: Open in MW2; Moderate in Black Ops-is this you?

We shouldn't have to change anything. Its your job to fix it.
Level 9
Likes: 0
Posts: 573
Registered: ‎12-09-2008

Re: NAT Type: Open in MW2; Moderate in Black Ops-is this you?

matthew888 wrote:

 

We shouldn't have to change anything. Its your job to fix it.







Don't be a fucking ass. What do you think he's trying to do?
Level 10
Likes: 0
Posts: 618
Registered: ‎13-12-2010

Re: NAT Type: Open in MW2; Moderate in Black Ops-is this you?

i've gone from open to strict since patch 1.04?

anything i can do to fix it?
Level 1
Likes: 0
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎02-10-2010

Re: NAT Type: Open in MW2; Moderate in Black Ops-is this you?

matthew888 wrote:

 

We shouldn't have to change anything. Its your job to fix it.





It's called Troubleshooting....don't be an a$s.
Level 2
Likes: 0
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎05-12-2010

Re: NAT Type: Open in MW2; Moderate in Black Ops-is this you?

I am working fine with the DMZ option, however to help out I just switched to a UPnP enabled configuration, with following NAT type Moderate as a result.



The router is a Draytek Vigor 2900V f/w version v2.5.9.1_(2)(3) with UPnP settings;



Enable Connection control Service

Enable Connection Status Service



----

UPnP active session table for my PS3



-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Private IP -Port #Pseudo Port Peer IP -Port Ifno Status

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

192.168.0.3 64319 42751 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 3479 3 0

192.168.0.3 64319 42751 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 3479 3 0

192.168.0.3 64319 42751 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 3478 3 0

192.168.0.3 3074 47042 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 3074 3 0

192.168.0.3 3074 47042 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 3074 3 0

192.168.0.3 53986 65186 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 3074 3 6

192.168.0.3 53990 65190 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 5223 3 6





---

DMZ active session table for my PS3 (for completeness sake)



-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Private IP -Port #Pseudo Port Peer IP -Port Ifno Status

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

192.168.0.3 64262 64262 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 3479 3 0

192.168.0.3 64262 64262 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 3479 3 0

192.168.0.3 64264 64264 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 53 3 0

192.168.0.3 30752 30752 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 26875 3 0

192.168.0.3 53883 53883 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 80 3 3

192.168.0.3 53907 53907 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 80 3 2

192.168.0.3 3074 3074 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 3074 3 0

192.168.0.3 3074 3074 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 3075 3 0

192.168.0.3 53899 53899 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 5223 3 6

192.168.0.3 10050 10050 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 3478 3 0

192.168.0.3 3074 3074 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 3074 3 0

192.168.0.3 64230 64230 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 3074 3 0

192.168.0.3 64240 64240 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 3075 3 0

192.168.0.3 0 0 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 0 3 0

192.168.0.3 53850 53850 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 3074 3 6

192.168.0.3 64262 64262 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 3478 3 0





ps. the UPnP interoperability between the same router and MW2 on the PS3 works fine for me
Level 8
Likes: 0
Posts: 477
Registered: ‎15-08-2011

Re: NAT Type: Open in MW2; Moderate in Black Ops-is this you?

Yeah this worked for me went from strict NAT type to open.





Loaded all the way into single player quit out then ran multiplayer and it worked fine.





Hope this helps
Level 1
Likes: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎13-07-2011

Re: NAT Type: Open in MW2; Moderate in Black Ops-is this you?

Why is the NAT TYPE so important? I ask because I have NAT TYPE OPEN, my internet speed is 100mb down, 20 up, and still I have problems playing this game, like loby closed, etc etc etc.



Ohh, and if I’m host (which unfortunately I am most of the time) I can even play the game, the lag is sooo bad when we are hosting.
Level 1
Likes: 0
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-11-2010

Re: NAT Type: Open in MW2; Moderate in Black Ops-is this you?

David,

Thanks, will try tonight when i get home. If you are free for testing shoot me a tweet, you have my @
Level 18
Likes: 0
Posts: 1457
Registered: ‎23-06-2008

Re: NAT Type: Open in MW2; Moderate in Black Ops-is this you?

I'm surprised you guys don't have QAs and hardware to test scenarios. I myself work for a multi-national firm as a software developer. lol if I go ask my clients to drop the database, reserve service ports etc...they'll ask "what have you guys been doing during FVT, SVT cycles?" I'm surprised you passed FVT stage with such a crucial defect. The fact remains all games on PS3 are fine including COD4, WaW, MW2 yet BO is having issue. I'm puzzled you guys got it correct on WaW. Cut the drama and tell us what is the deal?
Level 1
Likes: 0
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎15-12-2010

Studios