I seriously don't understand why it won't pick me for host?

Call of Duty Ghosts General Discussion

I seriously don't understand why it won't pick me for host?

Please help, i don't understand why it wont choose me as host? i have 57 megabytes download speed, it says host migration multiple times but then it will say cant find a good host, the game is really laggy like jumping 20 forward laggy, i want to enjoy playing and i know if it would just pick me it would be better? Please explain

Level 1
Likes: 0
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-12-2013
14 REPLIES

Re: I seriously don't understand why it won't pick me for host?

in reply to Beebs21

Download/upload dont determine connection quality.

Level 35
Likes: 1042
Posts: 2824
Registered: ‎17-11-2012

Re: I seriously don't understand why it won't pick me for host?

in reply to Beebs21

one of the main tests for being selected in the host race is upload speed, and ping to you from other players.

Level 75
Likes: 4274
Posts: 15690
Registered: ‎31-05-2011

Re: I seriously don't understand why it won't pick me for host?

in reply to Maccabi

i have 10 ms ping an 11 upload

Level 1
Likes: 0
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-12-2013

Re: I seriously don't understand why it won't pick me for host?

in reply to Beebs21

Beebs21 wrote:



i have 10 ms ping an 11 upload


your ping is a a measurement between you and a another server and back, it is not a set number

where abouts are you based?

Level 75
Likes: 4274
Posts: 15690
Registered: ‎31-05-2011

Re: I seriously don't understand why it won't pick me for host?

in reply to Maccabi

I live in Colorado, i just don't understand really, if they say that host is not determined by upload or download speed and my ping doesn't matter, what makes a good host? im just so sick of getting laggy games

Level 1
Likes: 0
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-12-2013

Re: I seriously don't understand why it won't pick me for host?

in reply to Beebs21

k what platform, how are you connected to the game ie wireless/wired and have you forwarded the correct ports on your console?

also what game modes are you playing when this occurs?

Level 75
Likes: 4274
Posts: 15690
Registered: ‎31-05-2011

Re: I seriously don't understand why it won't pick me for host?

in reply to Maccabi

I am playing on the xbox 360, wired connection, im not sure what you mean by forwarded the correct ports but i run hdmi directly to tv, ethernet cable directly from modem/router to console, game modes i typically play are TDM, kill confirmed and domination

Level 1
Likes: 0
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-12-2013
Highlighted

Re: I seriously don't understand why it won't pick me for host?

in reply to Beebs21

Why does it matter that your host?

"At the end of the match, there remains only ... nuttin 2 say."
Level 62
Likes: 3467
Posts: 6218
Registered: ‎24-05-2011

Re: I seriously don't understand why it won't pick me for host?

in reply to Beebs21

Matchmaking is severely broken in this game. Lag is so bad for xbox360 peeps, a lot of times it's retardedly unplayable. And I'm not using that as an excuse for poor shooting or aiming.

Level 7
Likes: 79
Posts: 199
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Studios