Anyone know how to set up a DMZ for the WII?

Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 Forum

Anyone know how to set up a DMZ for the WII?

Jesus! This strict nat type is doing my head in,portforwarding isnt working,and I cant work out how to set up a DMZ.

I have a sky sagem fast 2504 router

Level 22
Likes: 163
Posts: 2011
Registered: ‎30-09-2011
7 REPLIES

Re: Anyone know how to set up a DMZ for the WII?

in reply to BEAS7BLOOD

My nat depends on how many people are using my connection. When im rhe only one using wifi, its open, 2 people, moderate, 3, strict, I think portforwarding doesnt work for the wii.

Level 13
Likes: 53
Posts: 798
Registered: ‎22-12-2011

Re: Anyone know how to set up a DMZ for the WII?

in reply to 50calmastr

Port forwarding works unless your modem, or ISP, gives you a private IP address.  Then you have more work to do.  If it's your ISP you're probably screwed.  If it's your modem, there is a way to change it.  Just have to figure out how. 

Level 33
Likes: 490
Posts: 4011
Registered: ‎17-01-2012

Re: Anyone know how to set up a DMZ for the WII?

in reply to BEAS7BLOOD

DMZ- Demilitarized Zone?

Level 21
Likes: 198
Posts: 1618
Registered: ‎11-02-2012

Re: Anyone know how to set up a DMZ for the WII?

in reply to BEAS7BLOOD

@sovietcookie.  Yes.

@Beast.  Give your Wii a static IP address.  Your router will have a DMZ option.  Most of the time you just have to check a box to turn it on and then add whatever device's IP address you want to be outside the firewall.  In your case, the Wii.

Level 33
Likes: 490
Posts: 4011
Registered: ‎17-01-2012

Re: Anyone know how to set up a DMZ for the WII?

in reply to BEAS7BLOOD

You should have also given the Wii a static IP when you port forwarded your router if you didn't know that already.

Level 33
Likes: 490
Posts: 4011
Registered: ‎17-01-2012

Re: Anyone know how to set up a DMZ for the WII?

in reply to like2nap03

My problem is that my router isnt on the web anywhere, and were the netgear/linksys walkthroughs show you screenshots etc, there arent any for my router, and the stuff the others have arent on mine, like tickboxes for dmz etc.

Level 22
Likes: 163
Posts: 2011
Registered: ‎30-09-2011

Re: Anyone know how to set up a DMZ for the WII?

in reply to BEAS7BLOOD

Have you been here?  I didn't look through all of them, but maybe someone could help.

http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/tags/dmz.html

Level 33
Likes: 490
Posts: 4011
Registered: ‎17-01-2012

Studios