How do i open my routers NAT?

Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 Forum

How do i open my routers NAT?

Mine is strict and im ALWAYS losing connection and its pissing me off. I have the Belkin play n600 router. HELP!

Level 1
Likes: 0
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎30-01-2012
13 REPLIES

Re: How do i open my routers NAT?

in reply to NoobTube1321

actually i would like to know this too, it seems that i'm dropping connection from games too, and its always from my end, i cant even open my ports, ive tried

Level 1
Likes: 0
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎17-02-2012

Re: How do i open my routers NAT?

in reply to SuperUberDeluxe

IKR,its so bogus. like i literly lose connection after like 15 of walking in the map. also in private matches :'(

Level 1
Likes: 0
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎30-01-2012

Re: How do i open my routers NAT?

in reply to NoobTube1321

First of all you need to be nice to it and listen to it's crap, then get it horribly drunk.

Level 18
Likes: 217
Posts: 820
Registered: ‎12-11-2011

Re: How do i open my routers NAT?

in reply to McZOMBI

what was the point of your post when you're not here to help either of us?

Level 1
Likes: 0
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎17-02-2012

Re: How do i open my routers NAT?

in reply to SuperUberDeluxe

IKR

Level 1
Likes: 0
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎30-01-2012

Re: How do i open my routers NAT?

in reply to SuperUberDeluxe

Have a sense of humor, crab cakes.

Level 27
Likes: 257
Posts: 2525
Registered: ‎21-09-2011

Re: How do i open my routers NAT?

in reply to NoobTube1321

First DMZ Your router, Will make Wii main priority over other internet activity..  Then you need to Port Forward your Router.. 

here are the numbers for MW3   Before I port forwared mine  my NAT type was MOD. now is OPEN...  I never drop while connecting to a match..

80, 443, 28910, 29900, 29901, 3074  it is for both UDP and TCB..

Here is a link to help if needed

http://www.wikihow.com/Set-up-Port-Forwarding-on-a-Router

Level 3
Likes: 2
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎21-10-2011

Re: How do i open my routers NAT?

in reply to NoobTube1321

Make sure your Wii is on so that it connects wirelessly to the router.

Log in to your router (usually 192.168.1.1 or something like that). Not sure about other brands, but Cisco put the DMZ under the Application and Gaming tab. Enter your Wii's MAC address (the best option). You can find this on the back of your Wii (I think), in your router via DHCP reservation in Cisco routers, or somewhere else in other brands of routers that shows current connections.

Instead of using the MAC address, you could also enter your Wii's IP address if you make it static under DHCP reservation (not the best option). You could also NOT put your Wii in the DMZ and simply forward the appropriate ports via the Port Forwarding tab (a better option).

Some routers - for whatever weird programming reason - need you to put your device (the Wii) in the DMZ and STILL use port forwarding. This isn't the norm, nor should it be, since the DMZ is supposed to open all ports to the particular MAC or IP address.

Level 10
Likes: 37
Posts: 391
Registered: ‎16-11-2011

Re: How do i open my routers NAT?

in reply to NoobTube1321

I got an open nat when connected wirelessly to my router.  Finally.  But if I connect with an ethernet cable it goes back to moderate.  I'm going to look all this stuff up in the morning but I thought I would ask in case anyone may know and I'll have an answer when I wake up.

Even though it's connected via ethernet cable do I still need to go forward the ports for that connection?  Or does it need to be in DMZ mode?  I was under the impression that port forwarding was only for wireless, and I will find out tomorrow, but does anyone have any ideas or suggestions to get an open NAT with a wired connection? 

Level 33
Likes: 490
Posts: 4011
Registered: ‎17-01-2012

Studios