IP address of the game server

Modern Warfare 3 Forum

My Internet service provider could help to short the round trip delay to your server. Could anyone please provide IP address of the game server? And what is the condition that it could become 4 bars?

Thank you!!

yomin123
Likes: 0
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-11-2012
7 REPLIES 7

Hello yomin123,

What system are you playing on? You don't use a IP address to connect to a particular server. What are the specific connection issues you're having?

^JJ

Player Support
Likes: 241
Posts: 2289
Registered: ‎25-07-2012

Hi,

My platform is XBOX360.

It was a not good experience when I was playing the game.

The character(me) entered the house, sometimes it will back to the original outdoor place.

And it was obvious that once enemies shoots me, it was too tiny time to react that the character(me) was die.

The signal strength bar only showed 3 bars instead of full 4 bars. Other players told me that it represents the ping(round trip delay).  I think it will affect the experience when I was playing the game.

And I called my Internet service provider, they said maybe they could help short the round trip delay to your server(maybe optimizing the route) but need your server IP address.

Thanks a lot!

yomin123
Likes: 0
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-11-2012

The game doesnt have 1 IP adress as in a game it picks a host and once your connected to that host your connected to his IP

Krethys
Likes: 11
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎07-11-2012

depending on the connection 3 bars or 4 bars in my opinion dont really affect the gameplay i would know because im a competitive player now when the ping drops to 2 bars is another story its a horrible delay and 1, well you dont want one. try using a ethernet cable

Krethys
Likes: 11
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎07-11-2012

yomin123 wrote:

Hi,

My platform is XBOX360.

It was a not good experience when I was playing the game.

The character(me) entered the house, sometimes it will back to the original outdoor place.

And it was obvious that once enemies shoots me, it was too tiny time to react that the character(me) was die.

The signal strength bar only showed 3 bars instead of full 4 bars. Other players told me that it represents the ping(round trip delay).  I think it will affect the experience when I was playing the game.

And I called my Internet service provider, they said maybe they could help short the round trip delay to your server(maybe optimizing the route) but need your server IP address.

Thanks a lot!

Servers and hosts are not the same. If your issue is with signal strength and you're lagging in the game, that's a host issue. Your host for each game changes. Depending on your location and time of play, the host could be at the city next to you or could be hundreds of miles away. Therefore, it would be impossible to get an IP address for host.

Furthermore, the ISP representative you spoke to is most likely working at a call center, making $9 - $11 an hour if it's in the U.S. and most likely minimum wage if it's in a Third World country, just a highschool graduate or has a GED equivalent, does recreational drugs or works with those who do, and is saying whatever he/she can to get you to hang up. Telling you to get the IP address of a host that is not consistent in every game is a way to send you on a wild goose chase. You'll be so preoccupied with procuring what can't be procured that you won't be calling them back anytime soon, or at least while that representative is till there collecting a paycheck. By the time you realize that it was a wild goose chase and you do call them back, that representative has either quit or has been fired.

I've had lag issues myself despite having four bars. Sometimes, my bars drop to three bars but there were no lags. On rare occasions, when I press Select (as I often do to check on my teammates' performance and signal strengths) I've seen everyone on both sides drop to one orange bar and then game tells us to wait while a migration is in process. So, basically, this is an issue that all of us are having. Some of us more often than others, some not.

frats74
Likes: 52
Posts: 536
Registered: ‎09-08-2012

Hit a few lags tonight. Frustrated the heck out of me. Saw my bars (and a teammate's) went down to two, then back up to four.

frats74
Likes: 52
Posts: 536
Registered: ‎09-08-2012
Highlighted

Anytime you need to troubleshoot a network issue and your troubleshooting to obtain the lowest ping latency; You must then need to run a trace rout.

 

This will show you the time in milliseconds per hop from your access point to each router to the server and back. 

Playing on a server requires access to that server via an ip address. But someone is saying that would be a host instead. Think about it I have connected to a host which is trying to do the same thing as me. How would I be able to play off of his connection alone unless infact he had the Gaming server I desired to access?

I see allot of people play solo professionally which is because the hosting issue is a big issue for consistency and low latency connections. 

The gaming server may have hosting servers setup. That would make more since. 

If so all of those servers would very close in location to each other. So providing any of those ip addresses could help us allot. 

As I am trying to configure the fast connection as well. But I lack a target IP address to preform tracrout on. Which would allow me to do the same thing the person's ISP above is trying to do. Which is find out which hops have higher latency and get those milliseconds down by adjusting which ever routing configuration we have. 

So please do provide some relevant information. As for this girls ISP yes they do work for cheap in the us. Most of them being useless and under informed. But for them to be elegant enough to ask for this information it tells me that they are very smart indeed and probably make allot more than your average CSR.

SimplifiedBD
Likes: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-07-2019

Studios