Broken Leaderboards bad omen

World War II Zombies Forum

Many people on my friends list like myself have had their leaderboards just stop updating. The fact that Sledgehammer has not fixed the bug in the leaderboards is a bad sign. I'm not a game programmer but I am in IT and the leaderboards is a very basic display of table data from a database. The fact that it shows the correct stats on your Dossier and correct rank in the lobbies is proof that the data is being written to the DB and that it can be read from the DB. What this means is that the broken code is limited to displaying correct output to a table view of rows and columns.

Of all the bug fixes, this is probably one of the simplest. It's not complex game play or graphics coding, it's simple read/write of rows and columns.

Activision and Sledgehammer must have so little concern for the dedicated competitive zombie players that a simple lunch break fix doesn't even register. This doesn't bode well for the future of zombies with WW2 in my opinion. After about BO1 Treyarch realized the huge fanbase zombies had and was pretty quick to address an uproar in the community. The fact that a simple ranking/progress list is ignored tells me that Sledgehammer hasn't got it.

Throw in the prestige supply drop bug, the loss of xp for disconnect, the fact we don't get any zombie specific challenges, our prestige emblems are red knockoffs of MP and that we don't really get squat for prestige'ing. It all shows a lack of regard for the zombie only fans.

I'm not a youtuber and not a grinder. I play zombies for the personal satisfaction. A huge part of that personal satisfaction is being better than others on stats. In BO3 I was a prestige master 1000 and in the top 1k on many stats. Having no leaderboards or in this case, a broken leaderboard removes a huge part of the motivation to spend hours playing. Having to down myself at level 30-40 for fear of losing xp removes the satisfaction of high rounds.