13 Replies Latest reply: Dec 6, 2012 5:03 AM by greaTm RSS

Network, hardware, and PS3 optimizing request for help

Jake02

Hi everyone,

Where can I find more detailed information for optimizing my system and gaming experience?

I know we can only do so much with the PS3 and typical consumer grade equipment and I am not looking at upgrading to professional gear, but I would like to verify that my (typical) system is optimized. I am looking for general and advance technical articles detailing different setups and settings and how they can affect the many different variables of the overall system. Software to help analyze/verify the results of said modifications.  General knowledge of cause and effect of network system tweaks.  I am not a professional Network Engineer, but I am a professional Engineering Applications Designer and have already tried many different setup combinations, but I feel that I am lacking the fine tuning aspects necessary to assure myself that my (typical) system is completely optimized.

I am NOT experiencing any network connection issues, and can get into games without any issues, so that all seems to be working correctly, I have a NAT Type 2 (Open) when going through the router (DMZ’ed or not) and a NAT Type 1 when connecting directly to the modem, but I did not really notice any difference – it is hard to tell just based off of gaming experience, hence the request for software.  I usually make one single modification and leave it run that way over a couple of days, but I am not sure that I am moving in the right direction.

Please only reference legit information – I am not trying to fool the system into thinking I have something different than I really do – just want to optimize and be done with it.

Thanks in advance,

Jake

• Re: Network, hardware, and PS3 optimizing request for help