12 Replies Latest reply: Dec 30, 2013 9:25 AM by iivrruummii RSS

The insta-death problem: Will it ever be fixed?

biron_w

Before this game was released I made a thread about the insta-deaths I was seeing in the reveal videos. By insta-deaths I mean where people just drop dead with no indication they're being shot at. I assumed it was because they were using early builds and it would be sorted. Yet it's still in the game.

That has nothing to do with lag compensation(which is what people blame it on). It's a problem with the game itself but I've no idea what(I'm no game programmer). Maybe it's something to do with the engine. Seriously, go play a private match against bots and you'll see that the exact same thing happens there as well.Players are just out of sync ALL THE TIME and even in LAN games(as shown in the pre-release videos). No amount of lag compensation/net code changes etc will ever fix it as the devs need to figure out what makes players out of sync and fix it. The problem started in BO1 and is still a problem in this game.

So will this problem ever actually be fixed?

• Re: The insta-death problem: Will it ever be fixed?
          iivrruummii

I didn't know that the insta-kill was a problem, I thought it was called getting outplayed.

biron_w

It isn't called being out played at all.

In earlier COD you had some indication you were being shot at and had a chance to escape. In this game(and the past couple of CODs as well) you just drop dead with no indication you're being shot at.

RunAndGun1

iivrruummii wrote:

I didn't know that the insta-kill was a problem, I thought it was called getting outplayed.

No, it's not being out played at all. This didn't happen in COD2, 3, or 4. And it didn't happen in MW2. It was most pronounced in BO2. And it's even worse in Ghosts.