33 Replies Latest reply: Mar 26, 2014 10:27 AM by nuttin2say RSS

Ghosts: 64 hours played | Dark Souls 2: 202 hours played

ghamorra

Ghosts has been out for about 4ish months now and while I started out playing it non-stop I've found myself dwindling my gaming time down to rare occasions with friends. It's not that I don't like Ghosts but it's just no different enough anymore. I have few friends who play Call of Duty anymore, maybe 10% of what I had last year and 1% of what I had back during Black Ops.

Dark Souls though never seems to get old. I've been playing it for about 3 years now which is about the same amount of time that I started playing CoD hardcore (I've played since Modern Warfare but not nearly as much as I have in recent years). I find myself growing more and more attached to the series.

The reason why I think I'm playing more Dark Souls than Call of Duty is quite obvious. CoD isn't challenging. I don't say this because I've mastered all there is to master in Call of Duty; I say this because CoD is the same every year. The only challenge is going up against another opponent. What happens when that challenge gets old? What do you have to work towards? Hitting the highest prestige?

Dark Souls offers PvP play, it has countless challenges that are all different, and even after investing thousands of hours over it's life you're still going to encounter something new (this is not an exaggeration).

Though Dark Souls has a fatal flaw. It's a game that is very niche. There's a faint chance that the FPS crowd would be able to harness the game. After all, Dark Souls key is patience and as many know, the CoD community has very, very little patience.